top of page

Aimee Update

Well I had my 1st oncologist appointment on Wednesday this week.....chemo starts next Friday EEK! The cancer was a high grade so they are going to be quite aggressive with treatment, I will have 8 rounds in total of 2 different types, the 1st 4 rounds will be 1 type & then the last 4 rounds will be another type. There will be a fortnight between rounds so just over 16 weeks all up of this, quick calculation & that means I will be finishing just in the new year.....BRING ON 2016 I say!!!

It sounds like the 1st round might be more harsher but we'll see. We spoke about fertility & having more children in the future, this type of chemo does give high chance of your cycle returning & being younger increase your chances as well (1 plus to getting this young I guess). We were also offered a drug that puts your ovaries to 'sleep' over the length of chemo so they don't get attacked by it which further reduces the risk right down to 1%. This however is not government funded & costs $400 an injection, we would need 4x injections so $1,200.00 in total. Because of all this amazing & generous fundraising done through here we didn't even hesitate to say yes to this so then we know we have done all we can for the future & hopefully give Eli a brother or sister once this is all over.

For those wondering yes I will lose my hair unfortunately & this happens as quick as 2-3 weeks after the 1st round. I am considering going to get a really short hair cut next week to give me a couple of weeks to adjust. But then again feel like it will be a waste of a cut to only lose shortly after....

I have some wonderful family support & plenty of hands around to help keep Eli occupied over this time, Emma arrives next week for a few days so will be here for my 1st round & then we have Louise arriving mid Sept for 3 weeks so she will cover rounds 2 & 3. After that we should have an idea on how I go with it all.

For now I am just going to enjoy the next week with the sun finally shining here & get out & about as much as possible

Aimee xx


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page