top of page

Update from Aimee

Well again it seems to be a while between posts……I have hit the halfway mark & well past it now with only 3 more rounds of treatment to go, that sounds soooooo good to say!!!

Last week I had my 1st round of the different type which is meant to be a lot gentler. I now have no anti-nausea medications I have to take afterwards which made my take home meds bill a lot nicer on the pocket haha. I did however have to take some steroid pills 12 hours before & 6 hours before treatment which knocked me about & made me feel quiet blah going into treatment, although I only read afterwards they are meant to be taken with food & as I took them at 10.30pm & 6am I didn’t (WHOOPS!) so when I did go to eat I couldn’t really stomach anything. Before this chemo they injected some Fennigan into me which made me have a good sleep for well over an hour while the chemo ran…….I don’t really make for good company, poor Hannah was left sitting there on her own with no one to talk to! Lucky for me the treatment room was full so I got sent up to the ward & had my own bed for the day, this chemo takes 3-4 hours to run so was very nice to have a comfy space for my snoozing. The 1st week I felt really really tired but now into my 2nd week & have some energy back ready to go again on Wednesday. Can’t believe how close to the end we nearly are now (well of treatment anyway) still a few more steps.

Which takes me to my next update, I have an appointment with the breast surgeon on Tuesday before my next treatment to discuss options there. I also have had an appointment with the genetic services who have taken some more blood & going to do some further testing into the BRCA gene however results for this will take 3-4 months so I am not sure how/when decisions will be made. I am trying to make plans of returning to work next year but still feel so much in limbo land with a lot of it.

Last weekend was the fun run here in Perth, it was so lovely to get out in the fresh air on Sunday morning & see everyone…….what a wonderful turnout there was & so well planned. There were a few runners& the rest of us walkers, I had an idea afterwards that I should aim to beat the 1st female runners time next year when I am back out there……Bel was the 1st female with a time of just under 20 mins so that will be my 1st goal fitness wise next year, although should have mentioned this beforehand & made everyone run a bit faster haha!! I am really starting to feel the lack of fitness now & looking forward to be able to work on that soon enough. I have been keeping up with some moderate walking on the days I feel well, which is what is recommended to us. I have to say such a big thank you to all pitched in for this day & all that came along to support as well, we are so very thankful for everyone. On a bignote I was advised after this day it took the fundraising up to the 20k mark WOW what an outcome. When I initially told all my friends what was going on with me….Julia pitched all this to me & I repeatedly tried to say no to her to no avail (for those that know her….we all know what it is like trying to say no to Juls haha) she said then & there that she will raise 20k & I was like what no way is that necessary we will be fine but to be honest to have no stress at all about keeping the household bills & all the out of pocket medical costs that pop up each & every week is such a relief & keeps us focused on just getting through this at the moment. It also allowed us to celebrate our sons 1st birthday like everything is still normal in our house. We are very blessed to have such determined friends in our lives & to have such big support network out there.

I am on the countdown till the end of the year now which means the end of my treatment, I will be sure to keep you posted on the next step of my process as soon as I know.

xxxx


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page